Tour de France 2010 review: In numbers

The basics

3,642 – Total race distance in kilometres.

170 – Number of finishers, out of 198 starters.

91:58:48 – Aggregate time of the winner, Alberto Contador.

39.6 – In kph, Contador’s average speed. This is noticeably lower than in previous years, reflecting the more mountainous nature of the 2010 race, but also perhaps indicative of a much lower level of doping than in recent years.

The battle for the yellow jersey

Andy Schleck

Alberto Contador

5 – This year’s race was the fifth-closest finish in Tour history. Three of the top five have occurred in the past five years.

39 – In seconds, Contador‘s winning margin – the exact amount of time he gained after taking advantage of Andy Schleck‘s slipped chain on stage 15.

0.012% – Expressed as a percentage, the difference between Contador’s aggregate time and Schleck’s.

42 – In seconds, the largest time gap between Contador and Schleck at any point in the race. It was the difference between their respective times in the prologue – Contador was the faster of the pair – at 8.9 km the shortest stage of the race. Without the prologue, Schleck would have won by three seconds (hypothetically).

2 – Stages won by Schleck. Contador won none.

6 – Days spent by Schleck in the yellow jersey, one more than Contador.

3 – Schleck was overall runner-up for the second year running, but he also won the white jersey as the best young rider in the race for a record third time.

Stages and jerseys

Anthony Charteau

11 – French riders have won the King of the Mountains competition in 11 of the past 17 years – Anthony Charteau added to the tally this year – but none have claimed the overall race win since 1985.

6 – Stages won by French riders at this year’s Tour, the most since 1997.

13 – There were 13 stage different winners in this year’s race, five of them French.

5 – Five men were multiple stage winners this year: Mark Cavendish, Fabian Cancellara, Alessandro Petacchi, Sylvain Chavanel and Andy Schleck.

5 – Number of stages won by Cavendish, taking his total in the past three years to 15 and putting him joint-12th on the all-time stage winners’ list.

0 – Number of days on which Cavendish wore the green jersey, despite winning five stages.

2 – Cavendish is the only man in Tour history to win on the Champs-Élysées two years running.

7 – Years since Alessandro Petacchi‘s previous Tour stage win (he won four in 2003).

And finally …

Adriano Malori

4:27:03 – The time gap between Contador and Adriano Malori, who finished 170th and last.

16Saxo Bank‘s unlucky number? It was the race number of Fränk Schleck, who crashed out on stage three. It is also the stage number on which his teammate Jens Voigt suffered a serious crash which wrecked his bike, a year after crashing out of the 2009 Tour – also on stage 16.

1 – As he did last year, Bradley Wiggins finished one place behind Lance Armstrong. Last year they were third and fourth; this year they were 23rd and 24th.

See also my stage-by-stage review.


About Tim
Father of three. Bit of a geek. That's all, folks.

%d bloggers like this: